neonmopa.blogg.se

Tell me why im waiting for somebody
Tell me why im waiting for somebody










tell me why im waiting for somebody

Kimberly from Pomona, CaCraig pointed out about the drum beat mimicking the anxiousness of a junkie waiting for a fix - well as an ex-junkie I always marveled at the genius of this song to put that feeling to music so accurately.The best one is definitely on 1969: Live though (followed closely by the one on Disc 1 of the Bootleg Series). Derek from Pittsburgh, PaMake sure to check out the live versions of the song, which can be found on Bataclan 72 (1), The Bootleg Series (2), the Springfield Concert (1), 1969: Live (1), and La Cave 1968 (1).I don't think the influence of this song on many future artists can be overstated. Hugh from Phoenix, AzOne of the earliest punk songs, in my opinion.J from VermontThe street price of heroin in the late 60's was $13 a gram, hence the $26.Lou Reed sang it in a duet with Bowie during Bowie's 50th birthday concert, known as "Live at 50." Bowie's version is on the soundtrack of the movie Almost Famous. I must have been the first person in the world to cover a Velvet Underground song."ĭavid Bowie covered the song in 1972, and included it on his album BBC Sessions. It is unlike anything I've ever heard.' We learned 'Waiting for the Man' right then and there, and we were playing it on stage within a week. And I literally went into a band rehearsal the next day, put the album down and said, 'We're going to learn this song. It was serious and dangerous and I loved it. You like weird stuff, so maybe you'll enjoy it.' I played it and it was like 'Ah, this is the future of music!' I was in awe. My friend gave it to me and he said, 'This is crap. There's a white label on it, and it says 'Warhol.' He signed it.

tell me why im waiting for somebody

It hadn't got a company or anything at the time. Maybe you can take it back to England and see if you can get any interest over there.' And it was still the vinyl test pressing. A friend of mine came over to the states to do some work with Andy Warhol at The Factory, and as he was leaving, Andy said, 'Oh, I just made this album with some people. This song was a big influence on David Bowie, who explained to Performing Songwriter magazine in 2003: "I actually played 'Waiting for the Man' in Britain with my band before the album was even released in America.












Tell me why im waiting for somebody